Oil Pressure issue/Gauge install

Joined
Oct 24, 2022
Messages
11
Location
Dallas, TX
Hello all. I am in the process of working out how to install an aftermarket oil pressure gauge on our 97. I have done some searching and so far I have come to the conclusion that an aftermarket gauge will fix my concerns about oil pressure. My plan was to omit the stock unit with a manual but I saw a now where someone simply tapped into the pan to install a gauge. I was not of the impression that the pan was pressurized well enough to determine accurate pressure. Anyway, can anyone give me some direction on what aftermarket kit is best, and how they installed it. Omitting stock does not bother me BTW, I am looking for the best way for me to NOT screw up something. Thanks.
 

ToyotaMatt

Factory Focus-Point Mind-Set Approach
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
23,448
Location
EAST COAST
Website
vintageteqparts.com
why are you omitting the stock gauge ?


this bothers me ....... 🤔


How does this set up look to you

This way you keep the OEM gauge and you have a SAFE place to tap into for your manual gauge too



JIS pipe taper thread pitch ……. Fyi





2F8495D0-57CD-4CAF-9EAF-E34A40E55C33.jpeg
836F4845-DAB1-404D-ACC1-8CB6AC72BF30.jpeg
1BD5EDBD-85B4-435D-990F-D61460AF5668.jpeg
44395767-772F-497C-BF5C-5A5F11E03617.jpeg




 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
431
Location
Worland, WY
lol wat. Don’t touch the dash. Also, don’t touch the oil pan. It’s not pressurized. Just add that adapter above where the factory sensor is and put your manual gauge wherever you want it. Or maybe just fix the factory one after you confirm w/ the manual that the pressure is fine(which I’ll bet it likely is).
 

ToyotaMatt

Factory Focus-Point Mind-Set Approach
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
23,448
Location
EAST COAST
Website
vintageteqparts.com
lol wat. Don’t touch the dash. Also, don’t touch the oil pan. It’s not pressurized. Just add that adapter above where the factory sensor is and put your manual gauge wherever you want it. Or maybe just fix the factory one after you confirm w/ the manual that the pressure is fine(which I’ll bet it likely is).


i think you have Correctly Summed up all that Correctly ,,,,,,,,,,,


Excellent ! :)



(1.1).jpg
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
2,345
Location
east coast Canada
Hello all. I am in the process of working out how to install an aftermarket oil pressure gauge on our 97. I have done some searching and so far I have come to the conclusion that an aftermarket gauge will fix my concerns about oil pressure. My plan was to omit the stock unit with a manual but I saw a now where someone simply tapped into the pan to install a gauge. I was not of the impression that the pan was pressurized well enough to determine accurate pressure. Anyway, can anyone give me some direction on what aftermarket kit is best, and how they installed it. Omitting stock does not bother me BTW, I am looking for the best way for me to NOT screw up something. Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2022
Messages
11
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks all. ToyotaMatt. I prefer that setup and had not planned to cut into the dash. Figured I would do water temps with it.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2022
Messages
11
Location
Dallas, TX
Fwiw. I lost oil pressure in a Landry d90 yesterday and it took all of 3 minutes to have a lifter ticking like mad. As of now the entire oil system is in pieces in my garage. Don’t need this on another truck. This is my sons truck, and he is 16. We will do a double sensor that can be undone and all the purists who think I’m ruining greatness will be welcome to come help fix the rust in this thing.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
9,154
"I saw a now where someone simply tapped into the pan to install a gauge."

@RMabus : do you have a link or photos?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2019
Messages
158
Location
Fresno CA
Check out the lutzauto clock replacement. You can add oil and trans temp to it. As for the sensor mounting. You can do something like the pic.

I went with autometer gauges but after seeing the Lutz auto clock replacement I'll be doing that on my LX

DB3F13AC-B262-4984-B661-0ABF189B42A6.jpeg


54CB2421-AF66-451D-A45F-6A4D174A5AE6.jpeg
 

Somebodyelse5

Enginerdin'
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
3,764
Location
Tukee Town, AZ
why are you omitting the stock gauge ?


this bothers me ....... 🤔


How does this set up look to you

This way you keep the OEM gauge and you have a SAFE place to tap into for your manual gauge too



JIS pipe taper thread pitch ……. Fyi





View attachment 3176921View attachment 3176922View attachment 3176923View attachment 3176924




Thanks sir, just ordered. Didn't know this existed!
 

ToyotaMatt

Factory Focus-Point Mind-Set Approach
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
23,448
Location
EAST COAST
Website
vintageteqparts.com

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom