Oil Pressure Gauge not so good

Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
109
Visit site
All my gauges on my cluster work fine except Oil Pressure. It looks like (but not sure) that sending unit is connected. Any ideas on troubleshooting / process and repair? Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
16
Visit site
do you mean it doesn't work or the pressure is low?
the sending unit is almost above the oil filter, try to mesure it with a voltmeter

bye
 

Romer

fatherofdaughterofromer
Moderator
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
11,589
Location
Centennial, Colorado
Visit site
My oil pressure gauge doesn't work either. The needle isn't even visible. I got another cluster on eBay and I was going to swap out the oil gauge and see what happens.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
688
Visit site
For peace of mind you should probably hook up a mechanical
gage to your block (unscrew the sender and tap in there) and
measure the oil pressure: (1) cold idle, (2) cold 2000 rpm, (3)
hot idle, (4) hot 2000 rpm. Then you can reassemble your
electrical oil pressure sender+gage and confidently know the
correlation between the real pressure and the in-dash gage.

The OEM gage is notoriously flaky but I would not run without
any indicator of oil pressure.
 

73lndcrsr

SILVER Star
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
772
Visit site
I think the sending unit is usually on the drivers side of the block near the back. I have seen them on the oil filter mount on 78 and later though.
 

Romer

fatherofdaughterofromer
Moderator
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
11,589
Location
Centennial, Colorado
Visit site
Turns out mine was disconnected at the sender unit. It was loacted next to the Oil filter on the passenger side. The mechanic who told me where to look for it said if it still didn't work, that I could ground the coonection that is suppose to go to the sending unit and if the wiring and the gauge are working, the needle would peg. Fortunatly, it was just disconnected.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom