Oil Leak?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Brentbba

Former Golfer
Threads
I'm getting 1-2 drops a day on the garage floor, now covered with cardboard. Had the LC up on the ramps this past weekend to see if a 1/2 banana guy like me could tell where it was coming from. My first thought it that it's all residual grease/gunk being eaten away from a less than good clean-up from the brake fluid leak a few months back. As this board said, it would eat up just about anything.

There is no leak from either the oil filter or drain plug. The spots are a very black, thick liquid, not light brown like newer engine oil would be. It's not red like transmission fluid. I've never burned oil and trans fluid is still a pretty red color like it should be. Brake fluid reservoir is holding at the same level also.

Seems to be from the very center of the engine along the drivetrain, but since I'm NO mechanice by any definition, I don't know where any of the seals, etc. really are except where I see things bolted together.

Any thoughts or pics that may help me? I wiped everything fairly? clean so will get it up on ramps again this weekend to see what has appeared. Last thing I need right now is a big $$$$ repair bill.

TIA

If Eduardo is correct that would be a 1/2 banana job. There are some recent pics of a before and after leaky O-ring. Study the pics then slide under yours to see if that's it.
-B-

Found the thread and the pic's - Thanks for documenting your work so well Nakman. Will take a look this weekend.

Brent,
Don't forget to remove the golf clubs from your shoulder before you climb underneath! :D

SLAM!

If it was up on a Tee, it would be easy :rolleyes:

Can you identify any odor?

Dan,

I presume you mean any odor in what's leaked? Will check tonight. Two very small drops and one good size one.