Oil leak (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, I'm new to the 80 series land cruisers. I just looked at a 97 that has a pretty significant oil leak. What are the common problems. Also would I have to pull the engine for any of these jobs? Thanks

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your 80! Check out this thread below.

Last edited:
You’ll have to at least give us an idea of the leak location and expand on what you consider as “significant”.

There are three typical things: leaking distributor o-ring, leaking front engine seal or the oil pump cover. It may be any or all of them. There is also a YouTube video showing a how-to.

Not sure about a shop. I have always done my own work. There is a kit that will get you all the parts. You will need a big torque wrench though.

Hey guys, I'm new to the 80 series land cruisers. I just looked at a 97 that has a pretty significant oil leak. What are the common problems. Also would I have to pull the engine for any of these jobs? Thanks

With the exception of a rear main seal or upper oil pan, no lifting/removal of the engine/trans is necessary.

Common leaks in no particular order:

Valve Cover Gasket
Front Main Seal
Oil Pump Cover Seal
Oil Level Sensor Seal
Distributor O-Ring (external one)
Upper Oil Pan (arch)
Rear Main Seal

Front main, Oil Pump Cover and Dizzy O-ring being the most common. Valve cover leaks are common but not normally a 'gusher'.

In Michigan, I would take a rust-free Cruiser that leaks a quart a day over a rusty one that is leak-free. Can you post a picture of the leak?

In Michigan, I would take a rust-free Cruiser that leaks a quart a day over a rusty one that is leak-free. Can you post a picture of the leak?
Ya I just bought it, it it's triple locked and has a very nice frame.

IMG_20201202_123150163.jpg

IMG_20201202_123128659.jpg

IMG_20201202_123134687.jpg

Image_1606931873.jpg