OEM Locker Wiring Harness Options (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

I have searched a ton of posts and found quite a few on adding OEM lockers to a nonlocked rig. A few of them touch on aftermarket options and I wanted to see if anybody had a preference, insight, first-hand knowledge on the wiring harness options out there.

Background:

I have a complete 97 parts vehicle in my garage with OEM lockers.

I own a diesel converted 91 FJ80 I want to add the lockers too.

I am very new to wiring/splicing/reading EWD.

Is it worth it to go in and pull the individual wires for the lockers along with the ECM, Dash strip that will need to be added to my bezels, and other connectors? I have the parts so its free, if I go this route it will be all Toyota. But I will not have the option to lock the front independently from the rear. Admittedly, I have never used lockers and don't plan on doing rocks so this may be a moot point from someone more experience.

Another appealing option is the Slee E Locker Control Module. Seems to make wiring simple and keeps the OEM look, but does not lock independently It's only $85. Dont have to worry about a 25 yr old ECM going out.

Another option is the 12v guy's kit. Easy, no relays, locks independently, but (and this is purely vanity) I don't like the switch look. No ECM to go out what so ever.

Are there any other options out there I am missing? Any cons to any of the above options?

“You ain’t Mud if you don’t choose this option”

But in all seriousness, the ECMs are still available (I think), and re-wiring this system would be a good way to learn wiring (are you patient?) and you’d know what to fix down the road.

Edit: other options? Besides things like Harrop, etc?

what exactly do you want to accomplish ?

what type of wheeling situations do you encounter, or in other words: how would you be using the lockers ?