Normal Knuckle (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

D

Docmallory

Hey all,

I've been loooking for a used 80, and the Newbie guide on the Slee page says to look at the knuckles and see if they are covered in grease or not.

Please excuse my ignorance, but being a complete newbie, I'm not exactly sure what I am looking at. I'd like to learn however. Could someone please post a photo of a normal-appearing intact knuckle, perhaps with an explanation of what is shown? And maybe give me a hint where there should be grease and where there should not?

I did use the search function, but found only pictures of disassembled knuckles. That doesn't help much.

The 80 I looked at today was a very poorly maintained specimen, and there was gobs of crusty grease all over the ends of the axle just outboard of the axle housing (beyond the joint itself). I'm guessing that's bad.

Thanks in advance! :cheers:

Here is a thread where there are photos of the knuckles on a '97. This truck is showing early signs of a leaking inner axle tube seal.

Feel free to post pictures of the one you're looking at and we'll give you our opinion.

-B-

dang, these photos are goooood!
:D
Eric

Thanks for the help!

Yeah, the one I was looking at looked maybe a bit worse than in the pictures you linked to. I decided to forget about that particular cruiser b/c it had clearly been abused for most of its life. Too bad - had lockers and low miles.... :(

Again, thanks for the assistance - I'm not sure why I didn't find that myself when I searched....