No Start , Jumped +B and Fp, now starts fine without jumper wire (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Long story short:
I have an 88 FJ62 that was cranking but not starting. Check engine light was off. After a week of fiddling around and researching the FSM and this forum, I jumped the +B and Fp contacts on the diagnostic connector. Thought I heard the fuel pump so I started the truck. Truck started fine with the jumper wire. After taking out the jumper wire, I decided to start the car again. The car started perfectly. I've now started the car several times in the past hour without the jumper wire. While I'm happy that the car starts without assistance, I'm worried I haven't solved the underlying problem or worse, I've ruined something electrical. Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Background:
I'm a novice with mechanical work. Recently replaced my AC evaporator, cleaned the AC ducts, and converted system to r134. During the process I disconnected and reconnected the evaporator box, ECU, gauge cluster, and radio. I also removed and replaced the dash pad. Shortly after AC work, I drove the car on a 120 mile trip. My 62 then sat for a week before I tried starting up again. That's when my crank/no start problem began. During diagnostic for crank/no start, prior to jumping +B and Fp contacts, I pulled the EFI main relay and applied voltage across terminals 1 and 3 and heard a click to I assumed relay was working.

Purely a guess - without looking at the wiring diagram - something is failing and getting "sticky". Maybe a relay is failing and the voltage drop of all the wiring and contacts through the ignition switch etc made the voltage so low it couldn't bring the relay in.

The jumper in the test connector bypasses all that so maybe it brought the voltage up enough to get the job done.