Newbie with Battery and Altitude Question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

BreckenridgeCruiser

I break things.
SILVER Star
Threads
Website
teqtach.com
Hello all,

I am new to diesel and 24v systems and your forum has been a great help in my understanding of what I am getting myself into. I am importing a BJ44 from NZ with the 2B diesel with a 24v system.

When I pick it up, I am not sure of the things to check before trying to drive it. Keep in mind that the truck has been sitting for about a month.

My first question is whther or not it is possible to jump start a 24v system with a 12v. Any worry about frying either system doing this?

My second question is what things should I really inpsect before driving this off of the dock. I know wenough to check fluids, tires, and things that you would normally look at on an FJ. I just really want to know if there is something in the diesle engine that I may not know about.

My third question is since I live at altitude, can this engine be adjusted (or even need to be adjusted) for where I live. I have seen that there is a DHAC somewhere on some of the engines, but if it is like the 2f it only helps from around 4000 to 6000 feet. I live at 10,500 ft. Ouch!

Thanks in advance for any help with this!

Kraig

I just wanted to give you the MUD welcome.:flipoff2: I don't know much about diesels, but I know "wesintl" has one and drove it on the ghost town run last month. You should check out the Rising Sun club out of Denver. We are having a cruiser rally next Sunday. A few of the members have diesels and could answer questions for you. If you need help wrenching when you get your rig let me know, I'm in the neighborhood. Kevin

If your not keeping it as a stock "show and shine" vehicle; then the "best adjustment" you can make is adding a turbo. :) :D :)

About $1000 by the time you are done. This would include a rebuilt turbo.