Newbie saying hi

• Thread starter DVader
  • Start date
  • Watchers 0
D

DVader

I've been lurking on the board while searching for my TLC and just want to say thanks for all the info I got here which helped in the purchase. Now I've arrived being a bonafide cruiser owner. :D

Got myself a '97 TLC, with lockers.

I'm doing first oil change (to synthetic) and saw Bosch and Mobil oil filters. How good are they compared to stock filter? That's for starter, I'm sure I'll have more questions, and since I'm a rookie, go easy on me. ;)

Rolly

MTNRAT

MTNRAT

Welcome. Consensus here seems to be go with the small toyota filter part # 9091520004. Do a search under oil filters etc. It is also a good idea to change all fluids including a cooling sytem flush.
Sean.

S

Shortbus

[quote author=MTNRAT link=board=2;threadid=7246;start=msg60342#msg60342 date=1068241314]
Welcome. Consensus here seems to be go with the small toyota filter part # 9091520004. Do a search under oil filters etc. It is also a good idea to change all fluids including a cooling sytem flush.
Sean.
[/quote]

What Sean said...^^^^^^ The small filters are "better" per my local parts guru. Both Beowolf and C-Dan advsd the "04" filter is better than the "05".

From one of Beowolf's earlier posts.... "Toyota offers 2 different "small" filters for the 1FZ-FE engine. The preferred 04 is higher quality and more expensive than the B5."

BTW, congrats Rolly. :beer: :beer: :beer:

Big_Moose

Big_Moose

Rolly

Welcome aboard :beer: :flipoff2: :beer:

97 w/ lockers very nice! You need to get the CDL switch as one of the first / initial mods.
Like the others mentioned the #20004 filter is an excellent factory component.

Off to the 2nd annual Surf & Turf cruiser event in Pismo Beach, CA

Joe

Junk
aktion052.gif
:flipoff2:Welcome
aktion052.gif
:flipoff2: Newb
aktion052.gif
:flipoff2: