Newbie needs advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello. As the title suggests I'm a newbie not only to this forum but Toyota's all together. After reading and hearing about the reliability of the 4runners and land crusiers we have recently started looking to get rid of our boring SUV because it just doesnt for our personality. So a local dealership here in town has a 2010 4runner trail edition with 187ish miles on it so we went out to look at it, looked great drives great. Also on the lot was a 1997 lexus lx450 it has 160ish on it, new leather front seats, armour front and rear bumpers, winch, old man emu suspension, snorkel kit and brand new 315s on it. Both are roughly same cost and to be honest I like both of them in different ways. Have also been told the lexus is the best of the best...so let me have it...give me some advice on what to look for, pros and cons. This would be her daily driver. She is a stay at home mom with two kids under 8 years old. Thanks.

Are you into working on the vehicle? The 4runner will get better gas mileage and be a better daily driver. If she's ok driving a lifted, heavy, rig like the LX then go for that. I think you know what answers you will get posting here...The LX will hold value and it only has 160K. Seems like a no-brainer to me.

Having had a 4th gen 4Runner (yes, the one you’re looking at is a 5th gen) and current owner of an 80, the 4Runner is much less on maintenance. It’s a jump in and drive vehicle. The 80 is great, but it has more of a pre flight checklist. They both shine in their own rights. If you enjoy tinkering, maintenance and have the time, jump on the 80. If you’re just wanting something to jump in and not worry about, the 4 Runner is your best bed.