Newbie here with an '05 LX470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all,

I'm finding a whole lot of useful stuff on here...it's a live service knowledge base unlike anything else. Might as well intro and try to mix in.

Got a pretty good deal on an '05 LX470 in gray with 246k back in July for only 4,300. Body condition would be somewhere between 8-8.5. Frame had surface rust with no visible structural damage but the vehicle had almost no steering. I took a chance and bought it and seeing steering is better at higher speeds, took an even bigger chance and drove it 25 miles home.

Upon closer inspection and messing around, here's the list of surprises I found:
• No steering...but knew from beginning - replaced rack, pump + reservoir...95% fixed
• Doors lock only, both switches and key fob. - replaced driver cabin junction box/ecu. fixed.
• Liftgate pretty badly rusted by handle and license plate lights - need to do
• Outer liftgate handle missing and inner mechanisms are broken - replaced inner + outer handle. fixed.
• Steering reservoir screen is punctured - replaced.
• Mismatched tires - picked up a pretty new used set of Michelins for almost nothing
• Driver seat switch buttons loose...doesn't work - replaced with seat switch from ebay. fixed
• Steering Wheel doesn't tilt - tilt motor replaced. fixed.
• After checking out door locks, speakers look torn but sound ok - need to replace eventually
• AC Fan blower sounds obnoxious and smells funky - cleaned out cabin filter (pita) and replaced blower motor. fixed.
• ABS Lights came on for a few minutes...have not been on since - need to look into
• AC did not work - made MG CLT relay accessible in my 05. ended up being unplugged pressure sensor. fixed.
• Hood + Liftgate struts were shot - both replaced. fixed.