New to the cruiser world.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello, All. My name is brody and a few weeks ago, I purchased my first Land Cruiser. I have a friend who was getting too old to drive a standard so he decided to sell it to me. It is a 1986 Fj60 with 233k on the odo. Its in pretty decent shape over all. The body has some rust spots, but are only surface mainly. The mechanicals are in decent shape, timing is off and the carb needs adjusted, but runs ok considering. I am waiting on the MAF de-smog kit to arrive any time today, and shortly behind it is a MAF weber/HEi kit along with the master knuckle rebuild kit. My intentions for this rig are to get it mechanically sound and then work on the body/interior. So for the next few weeks I will be disassembling and repairing/replacing/reconditioning all the major assemblies to the best of my ability. That being said, I am a newbie to the Land Cruiser world and am excited to dive into this project! My mechanical background is varied, I am a small engine, diesel, turbine engine mechanic by trade, however I can and have worked on about everything. I am also a certified structural steel welder, certified 3G-4G unlimited, and know a lil about hydraulics. Electronics are not my strong suit, however I can and do eventually figure it out, just not very efficiently. Anyway, I hope to gain a wealth of knowledge and insight into the Cruiser world. Thanks for having me! I will upload more pics as I take them.

IMG_2520.JPG

IMG_2521.JPG

IMG_2522.JPG

IMG_2523.JPG

IMG_2524.JPG

Looks like an excellent starting point! You will enjoy working on a 60 for the most part - it's well engineered.

Welcome to themudness!

Welcome!

Hey brody, I am sorry but with your limited background and qualifications you are in for a torrid time. These are high complex vehicles and you need to be on par with lets say an aeronautical mechanic. :)