New to me 86 fj60. What to do first!? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Recently bought this beauty, but im new to carborated engines. The interior is in great shape (aside from being a mouse hotel) but there is a fair bit of rust on the underside. A little bit lost and overwhelmed on where to start. I did remove the carpet and seats to expose and rust hiding on the floor.

Aside from that i could use some direction. I have ordered the rebuild kits for the power steering pump, the front knuckles, and a bunch of bushings that i just assume are toast from it sitting for 5-8 years. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time,
Hedless

20210130_074026.jpg

20210130_074017.jpg

20210130_074104.jpg

20210130_074058.jpg

20210130_074121.jpg

Change the oils. Engine. Diffs. Transmission and transfer case. Do an ignition tuneup. Change the air and fuel filter. Pull the wheels and check the brakes. Check the front wheels for bearing play and adjust the bearing preload if needed. You might need to rebuild the knuckles but can drive a bit to see how things are before going to crazy.

Check out the FAQs sticky thread above the yellow line on page 1 of the 60s forum. Also the "how to videos" thread.

Just looking at your vehicle (in case you didn't know) it's partially de-smogged, still has the EGR and probably the stock distributor but removed are the air rail, and likely the smog pump was replaced with and idler pulley, no ABV, and removed are just about all the vacuum lines with the exception of the distributor advancer vacuum line. De-smogged engines come with issues unless they were done right. I mean distributor advance curve and timing issues. Carb burning too rich etc. Removing the smog pump isn't a bad thing if your not being smog tested. I mean they are notorious for seizing and leaving you without a fan belt.