New squeal/rattle in transmission/clutch (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello Everyone - I have an 87 60 stock engine (desmoged), stock 4 speed, stock transfer case.
I'm not good at diagnosing problems - but I can swap out parts (most of the time).
I've searched but can't find what I need.
When I am accelerating in first I hear this noise. When I depress the clutch to shift to second gear it stops then returns as the RPM's increase. When I depress the clutch to shift into third, the noise stops and doesn't return. I've never heard it in forth. I thought it might be the throwout bearing maybe but I read some posts discussing the throwout bearing. Now I'm not sure since the noise/rattle isn't heard with the clutch disengaged.
Any suggestions?
Thanks.

Don't assume it can't be a T/O bearing. Loading a bearing can change everything. Disengaged, the bearing has very little load.
Worn bearings have a different sound than dry bearings. Worn bearings sound more like a grinding, grumbling sound. Squeals
are more akin to dry bearings. Assuming your fluids are topped off in the trans/transfer and diff the possible dry bearings are
pilot, throwout and ujoints. But not being there and hearing it myself it could just as well be a exhaust rubbing the frame

Why not take a video of it recording the sound & upload it to YouTube & share the link with us so we can hear it too?

I'd also say don't assume it's transmission related.

Have a good look under neath. I had a skid plate rubbing on my t-case, or something and it would make a little sound only under certain conditions.

Also check the exhaust for any loose sounds. Sometimes sound change under loads.

I also like to check the engine mounts to make sure they are not loose/separated. That can make a sound when the engine torques/twists the driveline too.