1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Rotors? Need help please.

Discussion in '100-Series Cruisers' started by 98LXand99LC, Mar 8, 2004.

1. 98LXand99LC

98LXand99LC

Dropped my '99 off this morning with the shop I've been using for about 6 yrs for some rear brakes. He just called me to tell me I needed a new rotor for the right rear and that it was going to cost me $115 :eek:. I read a post here not too long ago about some rotors that, as I recall, were cheaper and probably better. I did a search and couldn't find it.

So....

1. What's the best replacement? (recomendations please)
    2. Where can I get them quick?

Thanks!

2. NovaFZJ80

NovaFZJ80

3. shocker

shocker

OEM (C-Dan) are arguably the best. $115 doesn't sound too bad if it includes labor, list price on a single rotor is around $100 (I think).

4. 98LXand99LC

98LXand99LC

What am I losing if I don't get the OEM Rotors? He said he had a hard time finding these. I called Toyota and the said they would have to order them and they would be $150.53/each. The rotors on the PerformanceRotors.com site are Brembo for $190 a pair. Are the better/worse/no differerent? Maybe I'm being overly concerned, but I just want the best for my crusher!

5. shocker

shocker

Without any personal experience, I have heard that non OEM rotors aren't made to the same tolerances and don't use the same materials as the OEM ones, resulting in some out-of-balance and earlier warping.

Brembo is a quality brake manufacturer, so they may perform better, but I'd bet you can get OEM Toyota rotors cheaper than $190/pair from C-Dan. ;)

6. 98LXand99LC

98LXand99LC

Shocker and Nova, thanks for your comments! Anyway, I told him to go ahead and put the rotors on. He's gonna put two on, $200 for the pair. We'll see how they perform. Guess I'm taking a $200 gamble, if these turn out to be crap I'll get some OEM rotors from CDan.

7. 410225