New member post - G'day from Australia! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
G'day,

The name's Ben and I live in Queensland, Australia. This is my first time posting here but I've been reading this forum for years. I owned an FJ80 about 5 years ago and followed a de-smog tutorial I found on this forum. Unfortunately, I had to sell that vehicle due to circumstances at the time. Yesterday I purchased another FJ80 and as this place seems to be a friendly wealth of knowledge, I figure I should partake this time around!

About a fortnight ago my wife and I had to travel to our state capital for a skin cancer removal and lymph nodes biopsy (fortunately all clear!). After the hospital visit we decided to make the most of being in the big smoke.

I found a used car yard which had both a 1994 FZJ80 GXL and a 1998 FZJ105 RV, so we decided to go test driving! I'd always wanted to drive a 105 series, as well as a pre-1995 80 series with the 1FZ-FE after owning my previous 1991 FJ80. The pre-1995 FZJ80 is quoted as the same kerb weight as an FJ80.

The vehicles didn't disappoint and the 80 series felt a bit more 'peppy'. The RV is close to 'poverty pack' as it doesn't have a few features such as power windows, but still has the lift up back and automatic transmission with full-time 4WD/AWD. The vehicles were showing their age though and weren't my preference for a few reasons:

1: Both were fitted with aftermarket LPG systems. The complexity and regulations surrounding these systems is unattractive to me, especially with LPG falling out of fashion here.

2: Both were higher kilometre vehicles with over 400,000km (250,000mi) each.

3: The 105 series was about $10,500 and the 80 series was $11,500 (no idea why).