New 60 - new problems... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,
I'm a Noob on this forum and I just picked up another TLC. This is my third LC, I had a '73 FJ40 and a '78 FJ40 years ago and they were the best trucks I'd ever had. I've always liked the 60's and was pretty psyched to finally get one. It's an '85 FJ60 and seemed to be in prime shape. 166K, all stock and very little rust, drove solid and sounded good. I must have had my LC beer goggles on when I purchased it because now that I've had it about a week and put a few hundred miles on it I'm noticing all sorts of problems. If anyone can help me diagnose and advise, I'd be grateful. My 40's never had any problems like these, so I'm unsure about what's wrong and what I should be most concerned about (what I should fix first $$).

1. First thing I'm noticing after driving a bit is a very-very high pitched squeal that is only apparent when the truck is in gear and rolling. As soon as the clutch is depressed, even a 1/2 inch, the squeal subsides. Something with the clutch?

2. I live in Denver, and the first time I took it into the hills I realized that there seems to be a huge lack of power. 35mph tops trying to climb even moderate grades. My '78 40 had a 2F 4-speed and and it would do 65 all day on just about any pitch. There seems to be no problem with power at low speeds in the dirt, etc. as expected, but the sluggishness on the pavement is a drag. Is it normal for the 60 due to it's weight??

3. When I inspected the truck I crawled under looking for leaks, etc and it was pretty much dry. However, after driving a bit it's leaking what appears to be an oil, anitfreeze mixture at the point where the water pump meets the oil pan. Is it just a gasket or is the water pump getting ready to croak?