Need window tint advice

Discussion in '200-Series Cruisers' started by NoogaCruiser, Mar 13, 2018.

1. NoogaCruiser

NoogaCruiser

I'm just getting started with my recently purchased 200 and want to finish the job that Toyota started by tinting the front windows as well as the rear gate window. First off, why did they choose not to tint the glass in the rear lift get? So bizarre, but I'm sure they have a reason.

Everything I've read says 20% is a good match to the existing factory tint, and to avoid highly metallic tints. Safe to say the same applies to the rear? Any other advice or pointers? thanks.

BTW I have a white 2009 w/ upgrade pkg.

JeffH likes this.
  2. toyotaspeed90

toyotaspeed90

I'm not a 200 guy, but I understand tint pretty well.

The percent of tint is completely dependent on several factors.... 20% tint on a Landcruiser with big windows and light color interior is different than 20% on a Lexus IS300 with black interior.

I would suggest finding a local tint shop - that offers a lifetime warranty (there is a huge variance in tint qualities - we use Johnson tint, it has a lifetime warranty and doesn't fade to purple) - and talk to them. Have them suggest based on your vehicle (interior color, light that comes in, tint on other windows), the local rules, what you can/can't get away with (for instance 35% in the front is legal here, anything darker is illegal - but in the 80 series I had, the light colored interior and the big front windshield 20% was a little darker than 35% on a car with a small windshield/dark interior so it was a safe bet).

NoogaCruiser likes this.
  3. Markuson

Markuson SILVER Star

Media:
    Albums:
    I'm not normally a dark window guy...but I am extremely happy having decided to go "limousine" dark from the second row back, including the rear...with a bit lighter on the front row windows. There are three reasons I love it:

Security: You absolutely cannot see what I have stored in my LC in the second row and cargo.