Need some help with electrical switch to trigger starter

Discussion in 'VA/DC/MD- Capital Land Cruiser Club' started by John Smith, Sep 9, 2018.

  1. John Smith

    John Smith In the garage

    Messages:
    4,208
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    268
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    I could use some help from Ed and any of you who know more electrical than I do. From my best reading of the 79 FJ40 electrical wiring diagram, the starter is triggered by the ignition switch turned to the Start position, which is fed by the 15amp Engine fuse to the Black with white stripe wire. It appears to be 14awg to me, to match the 15amp fuse.

    So I want to use this switch for my engine test stand, to trigger the starter, but can't make out if it is up to the task alone, or if I need to put a relay on it. I see what I think is a 10 AMP rating on the #3 feed connection on the left, but am confused by the Ui:600V, and output "AC15 and 240V-3A" on the right. This switch is part of switch panel I got off Amazon. With those high voltages it seems like it was made for AC use perhaps? Is there some conversion formula from AC to DC to determine the switch capacity? BTW, the switch circuit is activated by pressing the green arrow looking thing on top. This is pressed by a different LED lighted "Engine Start" button switch thing. Any insight is appreciated.

    IMG_20180909_165719.jpg
     
  2. Jakes40

    Jakes40 IH8MUD Poser SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,833
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Winchester,Va
    As long as it is a Toyota starter. You are energizing a coil that pushes out the bendix and (relay part) connects the battery to the starter. That switch will work for that. I use a generic push to exit button on my 40 that is rated for 5-10 amps.
     
    Stumpalama likes this.
  3. Stumpalama

    Stumpalama Forum Junkie SILVER Star

    Messages:
    7,075
    Likes Received:
    2,921
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    NOVA
    Like Chris said, don't over think it. I use a little 2 position, probably 10a rated switch wired direct from the battery to the starter relay solenoid to bump my engine.
     
  4. shmukster

    shmukster

    Messages:
    5,256
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    NE PA coal region
    Damn, John, throw away that switch and spend three dollars and buy a cheap momentary switch. Or send me your address and I'll mail one down to you!
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
    76FJ40 likes this.
  5. emorth

    emorth

    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Burke, VA
    Agree with the all of the above replies. The specs on the switch are the maximums (voltage & current) which you will not come close to. No worries there. You mentioned an LED lit switch, since the switch appears to be intended for a higher voltage AC application, the LED won't work at 12 volts unless it is powered from another source (external circuit). If you would prefer to use a traditional panel mount push button switch, let me know. You could even use a door bell button with a relay. The relay would be necessary since the door bell button isn't made to handle that much current. Let me know how I can help.

    STARTER SCH.jpg
     
    iptman likes this.
  6. 76FJ40

    76FJ40 Old Fart SILVER Star

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Location:
    NOVA
    Go for the door bell option.
     
    bkfj40 and Stumpalama like this.
  7. Stumpalama

    Stumpalama Forum Junkie SILVER Star

    Messages:
    7,075
    Likes Received:
    2,921
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    NOVA
    Meh, I have one of those too.
     
    Jakes40 likes this.
  8. John Smith

    John Smith In the garage

    Messages:
    4,208
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    268
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    Thanks for all the replies! It's a Toyota gear reduction starter on a 2F. I'll skip the relay. Ed, the LED switch I mentioned is a completely different switch. When you press the LED lit switch it physically presses that little green arrow thing on this switch to engage it.
     
    Jakes40 likes this.
  9. Tikicruiser

    Tikicruiser

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    715
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Alexandria,VA
    I think I just got reminded of why I fell asleep during the Ham Radio prep course and nearly flunked the test. You lost me at first mention of the relay. However if the Ridgebeam in your attic is sagging I can help!
     
    Stumpalama, Jakes40 and Crusha like this.
  10. Jakes40

    Jakes40 IH8MUD Poser SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,833
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Location:
    Winchester,Va
    I used one of these! The switch inside is the same as what you have. If you use is in the cruiser it will corrode in 4-5 years and have to be replaced. I think that may be part at my starting issues.

    IMG_3612.JPG
     
  11. Stumpalama

    Stumpalama Forum Junkie SILVER Star

    Messages:
    7,075
    Likes Received:
    2,921
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    NOVA
    Sounds complicated, which equals bad for a 40...
     
    Jakes40 likes this.
  12. John Smith

    John Smith In the garage

    Messages:
    4,208
    Media:
    6
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    268
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    No worries, this is only going to be installed on my engine test stand.
     
    Jakes40 likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.