Need some help: Water pump and pulley differences and adding power steering (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Steve Abbott

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm new to land cruisers and I'm in the process of freshening up the'65 FJ40 that I picked up a while back. When I bought it, it had a crappy no power SBC in it and a cracked 3 sp transfer case. I pulled that out and bought what i thought was a '78 2F engine, 4 sp trans and TC. The engine has been completely rebuilt and I installed a new water pump based on what I thought the engine year and model was. I just realized that the new pump I have is a different depth (about 4.83" to the flange face) and has a different bolt spacing (1.75" side to side) than the old one (about 5.375" deep & 1.5" bolt spacing) that came on the engine. The fan that came on the used engine was a non-clutch made of steel. Also, the old pump is made of steel and the new one is aluminum. In researching the differences, it appears that different years/models had different depth water pumps with different bolt spacing on the flange and different fans. It also appears that the shallower depth water pumps were for clutch style fans, I think. I'm starting to think that my engine wasn't a '78 OR that someone made some changes along the way to the water pump and pulley OR the engine is a '78 but came out of a different model Land Cruiser (maybe a 60?). Either way, I need to figure out what year parts I have and what I need.