Need Help with Lincoln SP250 Welder (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Need some help with my "new to me" welder. I am having problems with my welder, its a Lincoln SP250 welder (ditigal version). I am getting a lot of sticking and "blast off" with weld porosity. The weld are are narrow and ropy, the gun are "kicking" back at me. I changed the liner, tip and nozzle. I am using .35 solid steel with 75/25 Argon/CO2. The welds are bad, really BAD!!!Now I am not a pro at welding, honestly I am a rookie. But I had a friend use it and he was getting pulse welding. I need your help if you know anything about this machine. I am trying to get started on my project and this is holding me back. The Pig wants to get out of the barn and get dirty, please help. Your help is GREATLY appreciated.

Need some help with my "new to me" welder. I am having problems with my welder, its a Lincoln SP250 welder (ditigal version). I am getting a lot of sticking and "blast off" with weld porosity. The weld are are narrow and ropy, the gun are "kicking" back at me. I changed the liner, tip and nozzle. I am using .35 solid steel with 75/25 Argon/CO2. The welds are bad, really BAD!!!Now I am not a pro at welding, honestly I am a rookie. But I had a friend use it and he was getting pulse welding. I need your help if you know anything about this machine. I am trying to get started on my project and this is holding me back. The Pig wants to get out of the barn and get dirty, please help. Your help is GREATLY appreciated.

Make sure you have the polarity set correctly. Any chance the welder is set for flux core wire?

You need to make sure you have a good ground and clean metal. Also, wire speed sounds too fast for the voltage. You might need to increase the voltage so you're not stubbing.

Last edited: