n00b needs advice on fj40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
last summer i got a stock 63 FJ40 for $500. it needs a carb, lots of wiring work, a cage, a top and the seats need replaced. theres also a little rust in the reat at the trailer hitch. but the body is straight.

i know this is hard to answer. but is it worth building up or should i start looking for something else? i am not a master mechanic but i do enjoy working on my own rigs. i just don't want to get in over my head.

Sounds like you have yourself a fun project...

How about some pictures????

go for it, i have a 76 FJ40, and a 80 Hj45. before i got them, i used to pay for oil changes, and couldn't change a plug lead if my life depended on it.

now i've changed a head on a diesel, rebuilt a diesel fuel system, rebuilt brake systems, and am learning to rebuild diffs, and have started building stuff like bullbars etc for them.

go for it, their easy to work on, easy to learn stuff on, and you can't kill them with an axe

Keep it. Build it.
All I ever had was highschool auto and an inherent distrust for anyone other than me touching my 40. I've rebuilt Everything but the tranny now all by myself and nobody ever taught me how to do stuff. Save the bling you'd pay to have tha lube and tamper screw your junk up and buy tools like welders with the extrablg.

I'd like to see pictures, too. Do you have the stamped bezel?

You ask about building it up. If you are thinking of building a trail rig, that probably isn't the best one to start with. Later FJ40s had stronger front axles, power brakes, 4 speed transmissions, better carbs and even front disc brakes that are very handy if you're going to climb a lot of hills. If you are ready to take on a lot of modification and work, or you don't care about hard core wheeling, go for it! A body in good shape is a great place to start.