My wife says go bigger! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

We are on forrest trails and have easy to medium obstacles

Seriously?

33"s and zero lift will eat this alive!

I currently run 305/70r16 (33"s) and 27 year old saggy OEM springs.
This eats anything in the easy to medium forest road range with a bit of driver skill.

I've previously run 2" lift + 35"s, and 4" lift + 35"s.
2" lifted cruiser went absolutely everywhere my 4" lifted 80 did, and then some too.

I think 3"lift is about the sweet spot with an 80. More than that you risk driveline vibrations, and start adding lots of modified parts to fix suspension geometry etc.

Short video of my stock 80, 27yr old springs, 33" ATs, total novice at the wheel.

My boy's first bit of wheeling, on a short trail that several local internet experts have told me is impassable without front and rear lockers.

Driving down I was thinking, "hmmmm, could be interesting for him coming back up". It's steeper than video suggests, and was wet. And step ups were off camber in a few spots, this is what steered it hard left as the rear slid a little coming up ledges.

IMG_4604.jpg

Sleeper 105 series. (Same live axle front suspension as 80 series)

2" lift, 35s, fully locked, modified shock mounts to allow longer shocks and more down travel without bumpstops limiting up travel.

Need a small tug with a winch on this one. Rear control arm brackets were catching on the ledge.

For the record, my buddy in a heavily built 75 series on full coils 6" lift, long arm 4 linked suspension, and 37s also winched up this

IMG_4587.jpg