Moving my 2F/H42 combo around (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone,
Over the weekend I need to pick up my spare 2F/H42 combo from the shop that has had it for a long time. I have no real idea how I am going to get it off my trailer and tuck in the spot I prepared for it in the garage. The shop is allowing me to borrow their engine hoist, however I have never used one before.....this should be fun.

How heavy is the engine/trans combo roughly? The engine is totally complete and ready to run with all accessories on it. I am thinking of going to HF and picking up some furniture Dollies to place the engine on once I lower it from the engine hoist, will that work? I need to tuck the engine in a space under my garage stairs, so a dolly would work best. How difficult is it to remove the transmission from the engine? How much weight would I save by removing the transmission?

Thank you,
Zack

IMG_1675.JPG
IMG_1681.JPG
IMG_1683.JPG
IMG_1684.JPG
It's a beast. Complete with everything will be about 950#. Maybe more. Use the 1 ton setting ATLEAST. The block is about 700# w/o transmission and case. Here's how I keep mine out of the way...

It's easy to unbolt the tranny+transfer off the engine. It's only a few bolts. Gotta keep it all level when pulling them apart (use headless bolts as dowels in the engine bolt holes to guide it) so as not to tweak the input shaft.

It's only the transmission, not the transfer case

Just leave it together. The transmission adds maybe 125 pounds.

It is a lot of weight for a movers dolly, but I've got a 2F sitting outside on a cheapo HF dolly and it's been fine. I'm going to dispose of it so I don't care if it falls and breaks the dolly.

I'm liking @LAMBCRUSHER 's custom dolly though.