1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More confusing operating temperature info.

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by cruiserdan, Aug 27, 2006.

1. cruiserdan

cruiserdan SupportingVendor Emeritus Moderator

Surrounded by Cruisers from all over the world
    Whilst taking some re-certification tests in order to retain my status as a Master Parts Manager I ran accross this tidbit of information. I scanned the page since you may not believe what I found:
    scan.jpg

2. KliersLC

KliersLC

Whats the publishing date on the book?

Maybe recent is more recent than say, 1997...

3. 94landcruiser

94landcruiser

Are they saying they want the coolant at a constant 220?

Seems high, my gauge is painted at about 175 on the raventai mod temp gauge guide.

4. cruiserdan

It's quite recent since it discusses the scroll-type A/C compressor utilized in the 2004 and up Prius.

The 220 degree "target" does appear to dove-tail in with the A/C cut-off/cut-in temperatures of the 80. I wish that "recent" had been better defined.

5. cruiserdan

More like "about 220" but yes, I think that is what it says.

6. -Spike-

-Spike-

I imagine it depends on where the measure is taken. I have heard that manufacturers shoot for 220 before this, like in the mid '90's. Doesn't really jive with a 195 degree thermostat, though, as that's where the hottest water should be and if the cooling system is up to par the thermostat should open and close regularly- meaning that without the t-stat the system would run colder than 195, everything else being equal.

-Spike

7. IdahoDoug

IdahoDoug

Some of the oil sludging problems have been traced to engine temps that are too cool, so this may be part of that solution. Water boils at 212 without pressurization.

DougM

8. cary

cary