Metallic “Clang!” Noise Shifting From Reverse To Drive (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Sonofaskipper

SILVER Star
Threads
i sometimes hear a clang type noise when shifting from drive to reverse, and vice versa. Any ideas as to where it might be coming from. No play in the shafts front or rear. It’s rather metallic sounding, not really a “clunk,” more of a ringing “clang.” No issues or aberrant sounds when driving, only hear it when shifting.

I drive a ‘91 HDJ81.

Have you greased all of the slip joints and u-joints with moly grease? I'm guessing you'd hear a similar noise if you abruptly let off the gas in 3rd gear with all the windows down. I'm not an expert but from what I've read that's normal.

I have greased the u and slip joints. Still hearing it. I’ve indeed heard/felt the lash from coming off throttle abruptly, wondered if the sound was correlated. I’ve not ridden in other 80’s, so I have no frame of reference. Thanks for the input.

Tap the dust ring on the pinion and see if it sounds familiar.

@Technician1985 amaze balls avatar btw.

Makes me laugh every time I see it. Also as said above mine makes the same noise and I believe it's the rear driveshaft tube, mine has a TINY amount of play and on occasion it can make a loud ping like hitting something with an aluminum baseball bat. It quieted down a lot after heavy greasing but before adjusting the kickdown cable on occasion if it upshifted with no throttle it would clang and I'd get a WTF from the passenger.

There shouldn’t be play in the drive shaft. Lock your center diff. Pull the rear drive shaft. If the noise goes away you found your culprit. U joints on the rear drive shaft.

I’ve had the same noise on all of my 80s. Always freaks me out. It’s always been the u joints.