Metal heater bypass pipe? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Every time I look at my engine bay I learn something new about my '74 FJ40 with an 1.5F engine. Granted, I'm a complete amateur when it comes to cars/trucks.

The heater never worked and wasn't even connected when I got it, so I removed the blower and closed it off until I figured out how to rebuild it. I just noticed a metal (?brass) heater pipe that was caked with old oil before I cleaned it off and realized what it actually looks like. I saw one or two photos of this in the internet about where it's supposed to go, but it doesn't even fit on the side cover because of the large cap aftermarket distributor and it's resting on top of the spark plug wires. Is there any use to this pipe until I place a heater back on? Can I just connect the heater bypass valve to the engine with a single hose?

I'm sure y'all will see many other things wrong with this engine bay I hope to address and go back to OEM at some point too, like the aftermarket chinese heater bypass valve that's leaking, the aftermarket distributor that's way too big, and the sideways carb.

E52C1129-651C-45D5-A884-C4EC0AC81407.jpeg

C98E550E-D563-456C-B33D-5D77FEF48523.jpeg

that is a custom pipe job, the OEM one looks nothing like that and is routed differently.
the heater hose would have been routed into where the duct tape is in the 1st pic to the heater and then to a shutoff valve and then to the rear driver side head.

This was the first thread I found with decent pics. Your setup is Kustom... with a K because it’s a whole lot of Crazy

Is that a Four Barrel Edelbrock mounted sideways on your 237? How does it work?