Max Amp rating for dash knobs?

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by smf, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. smf

    smf

    Messages:
    85
    Media:
    33
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    vegas
    Hi all, I am adding a taurus fan and was wondering if I could use one of the dash knobs in place of an aftermarket toggle switch. Anyone know the amp rating of the knobs?

    :cheers:
     
  2. e-man

    e-man

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    I suspect the Taurus fan had a relay on it when you removed it. If not, get a relay and don't worry about it. If you insist on having a manual switch that is. Seems to me you would want to rig up a thermostat to turn the fan on and off.
     
  3. jcj_78FJ40

    jcj_78FJ40

    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    237
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Afton VA
    I agree. Defiantly use a relay; DC fans pull a lot of current. Your switch may be OK but if your wire is to small it may burn up and start a fire. Relays are easy to use and you can find them at almost any Part Stores(Look for a general use, 12VDC, 30AMP). Let me know if you need help on how to hook one up.
     
  4. Isotel

    Isotel

    Messages:
    4,061
    Media:
    5
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    Crawlorado.com
    i think the tuaras fan needs a relay more in the 60-90amp rating.. Ive read that they pull over 100 amps on startup..
     
  5. smf

    smf

    Messages:
    85
    Media:
    33
    Albums:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    vegas
    Yes I have all the correct size wire and a 75 amp relay. I want to keep it simple so I will be controlling it with a switch. I was just wonder what the amp rating was on the knobs, because on the switch I might use, it is rated to 30amps. If the knob is rated to 20amps or something it might be nice to use it to keep the dash nice and clean.
     
  6. dustin

    dustin

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    if youre using a relay, and the knob just turns the relay on, youre fine. Pretty sure your relay is only going to draw around 2 amps at the most on the switch side.
    For the amp rating on the switches- which knob are you planning on using? either way, I dont think any of them are rated for more than 20 amps. I think maybe the fan is a 20 amp switch, but would need to check the fuse block on a stock Cruiser (I rewired mine..).
    As youre already aware, you deffinitely want a relay(relays, since there is high and low on the Taurus fan) for that Taurus fan, and to absolutely not run it through your switch/ knob, and instead off a relay.

    cheers-
    Dustin
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.