Looking for some tips on replacing the curtain airbags (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everyone! I just made a new account, but I have been reading off the threads and posts here since I got my 2004 100 series back in the summer. I am slowly fixing this truck up, now I am trying to fix my airbag lights. I have codes P1161 & P1166 that tell me it's the curtain airbags. I recently bought a pair from a junkyard that came off a 2006. I'd like to see if anyone has done the job to replace both sides before I start tackling it. I have little bit of experience throwing wrenches but just never done anything similar. Any experience would be appreciated!

Doesn't the code start with a B, not a P?

Not sure if you're aware, but $20 will get you 2 days of access to all of Toyota's guides via https://techinfo.toyota.com/.

Looking at my FSM, it's not necessarily the side curtain airbags - could be airbag sensor assembly, floor wires #1 or #2, or the curtain airbags themselves. I don't see anything immediately pointing to a common issue considering B1161 and B1165 are indicating that both sides are throwing errors.

Doesn't the code start with a B, not a P?

Not sure if you're aware, but $20 will get you 2 days of access to all of Toyota's guides via https://techinfo.toyota.com/.

Looking at my FSM, it's not necessarily the side curtain airbags - could be airbag sensor assembly, floor wires #1 or #2, or the curtain airbags themselves. I don't see anything immediately pointing to a common issue considering B1161 and B1165 are indicating that both sides are throwing errors.
My bad, it's is B, not a P.