LOOKING FOR ADVICE (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good evening!

I’d really appreciate your opinion, thanks in advance…

I’ve got an ‘86 FJ60 we named Buttercup, always wanted a cruiser, we love this thing…

It’s got 310k miles, couldn’t resist buying the truck about two years ago with the intention to take on a project and do everything within my ability to revive the truck, it’s actually been going really well so far.

I’m an amateur mechanic, relying on manuals and this forum, enjoying the process but unsure how to proceed at the moment, please let me know what you would do in my situation.

I’ve had my neighbors complain and working at home hasn’t been an option, been fortunate to have a friend who lets me use their garage, been trying to avoid occupying their space for more than a week, out of respect, although they haven’t placed any limits it can seem obtrusive sometimes.

I’ll have my own place to work someday, hopefully buy a house and have my own garage in the next few years, the only thing preventing me from making more progress is limited access to an adequate workspace.

I’d like to keep the truck on the road for as long as possible.

I’ve planned on making the most of the current situation, tinkering at my own pace and ultimately swap the motor for a v8 or rebuild the entire thing myself, ideally, in my own hypothetical garage.

(My girlfriends parents have a lake house in Texas with a workshop that has everything necessary, including a hoist, and her father has experience swapping motors and doing machine work, shipping the truck there to restore and going for an extended trip in the future would be an option.)

My concern.

The truck has always made a ticking/clacking sound, most notable at operating temperature while idling, it’s louder in comparison to another FJ60 we drive on occasion but not alarming…