Looking at LX tomorrow for purchase? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all, new here. I always wanted a land cruiser, I was a jeep driver for over a million miles. My wife and I were looking at trucks to replace my suburban. Wanted something nice for meeting clients and meets my truck needs. She shows me an LX which I did not know was an LC but it immediately looked familiar. Been shopping for a bit, most of what I find is LXs not LCs, dis they sell more or do the LC owners just keep them? Anyway I found an 02, original owner 125k miles. Going to look tomorrow, anything I should look out for? I am mechanical, do all my own service, lifts, etc but I don't know these trucks.
Also looking at an 07 GX. Thanks

Check for rust in the usual places. Fender wells, rear lift gate/tail gate. Check AHC function at all 3 heights. Timing belt service should have been done already - it is not optional. Plan for $1500 service if it hasn't been done and you need a shop to do the work. Check underneath for rust. My guess is a NY or other northeast vehicle will have quite a bit of rust. All depends on how much rust you're comfortable with.

Been shopping for a bit, most of what I find is LXs not LCs, dis they sell more or do the LC owners just keep them?

There's no benefit to the land cruiser over the LX

Except having to keep the Grey Poupon stocked up in the console of the LX...

Last edited:
Is this your first Toyota? If so, FYI, the LX was made to be the luxury version of the LC. Good luck with your search.