Looking at buying a 1983 60 wagon 4cyl turbo ..... walk me through it! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to Diesel engines. This beast originated in Europe, has been parked for about two years. I am charging the batteries, and will try to start it. I am wondering if the fuel system should be 'bled' 1st? Would the engine be a 13B-T? I am told it has 700 000km's, and this is the 3rd engine with less than 100 000 on it. I will update as I have time and if I make any progress. I am hoping for a daily driver :)

DSC_4647.JPG

DSC_4649.JPG

double post - deleted

Nice Find. You'll have to tell us whether its a 13B-T... I don't think it would have come with one originally, but someone could have put one in...
Or more likely it could be an aftermarket turbo on a 3B. Is the Turbo air cross pipe intake marked Toyota?
Why was it parked?
If it needs to be "bled", you will know 'cause it didn't start with fresh batteries.
There are lots of threads on MUD about people starting diesels that have been sitting for a while- 2 years isn't particularly excessive compared to some. As long as no water or other contaminants got in the fuel, it should still be OK...

Not a bad looking truck have a good look around the roof they rust out around the gutter area. It may not need any bleeding to fire up but it will need a good glow depending on what engine is fitted. As above take some photo's of the engine bay so we know what you have.

I wouldnt bother bleeding it but I would buy few filters in case they block up. If the batteries are cranking and still wont start, then a bleed would be the next step.
Thats a nice looking body for an 83, it must have been in south of europe. I expect its a 4sp?
The engine type is stamped on the block in 50mm letters just below the head gasket. I forget which side.