Locked in Dubai - 1997 FZJ80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So, I'm a glutton for punishment.

I've been building a Troop Carrier for the past 12 months and quickly realised that with the work I'm doing and still have planned, it's not going to work being without the vehicle for long periods of time, especially as it's been my Daily for the past year.

Anyway, a year of driving the Troopy and 55k KMs covers, it's time I get something as a daily.

Of course, what else in Dubai (apart from a G Wagon?) other than a big petrol Land Cruiser.

This one is a 1997 VXR, full-time 4X4, with front and rear lockers. The chassis is absolutely mint, and the body work is incredibly tidy (apart from a dent in the rear quarter, which I'll sort in due time). The paint is original throughout but looks like it hasn't seen any polish or wax for at least a decade.

Plans... I'm balls deep in the Troopy build so don't have huge amounts of money to spend on modifying this one at the moment, so initially the budget I've set aside will go towards preventative maintenance and overhaul to make sure it stays reliable.

There are bits that I will need to do quickly; changing the air vents in the front as they're all broken, giving the leather interior a bit of a refresh as the front seats have been recovered, plus polishing to within an inch of its life.

I'm also looking for a replacement ignition key with remote, if anyone knows if these are still available OEM?

BFABA079-3240-43C8-9631-215540AAAB2D.jpeg

IMG_0890.jpeg

IMG_0893.jpeg

IMG_0892.jpeg

Interesting, looks like an LX-450...
looks clean!

An LX450 would’ve been nice but unfortunately they didn’t sell them here.

thinking about changing out the front grill for the older quad light or more basic style. Not a fan of the gold.

Its looks like they are using LX-450 rims not 80 series