Leaking 60 questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After some minimal work I got my new to me 60 on the road

With all of the parts moving some leaks appeared. I’m still in the clean and asses stage. I’m not a mechanic but can follow directions. Opening a T-case or motor for more than a valve check is not in my current comfort zone.

1) Looking at this video I would say the front leak by the radiator fan is a non issue but looks like an easy fix. Remove fan, remove cover, replace gasket. Done.

2) The next leak behind the oil drain plug I’m guessing is the rear main seal. It doesn’t look bad to me and hard to get to to fix. I’d ignore it unless it’s accessible while working on another issue.

3) Not really shown is a leaky oil pan gasket. Not a bad leak and not sure how to access the gasket.

4) Skipping the damp rubber plug for now.

5) The front and rear output from the transfer case do not appear to be leaking. At least not much. I’m confident I could pull the axels and replace the seals if necessary.

6) At first glance the gasket where the two halves of the transfer case meet looks like it’s leaking and needs to be addressed. I still need to clean it up and verify the source. I think I’ll need help with this one. I’ve read up a little on removing the T-case but not really how to fix anything.

7) The seal at the rear differential has a small leak. See #5

Would you agree with my assessment? I’m open to tips, suggestions or links.

I’m not sure how to imbed a video. Hopefully this link works.

Vids - Gerst - https://gerst.smugmug.com/Vids/i-FSqQLLj

Oil weeps are not harmful to anything but your driveway or garage floor. And maybe your pride.
Weepy seals keep the outside metal coated in oil which attracts dirt which creates the world’s best anti- rust coating.