Leak from parking brake drum

Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Wilmington, NC
I just replaced my rear output pinion seal on my 72 cruiser. After replacing the parking brake assembly, I slid the drum back on the shaft, secured it with the washer and bolt. After that 8 hour ordeal, I still have a leak. This morning I took it all apart and found that I didn't have the shim that goes with the washer.

Does anyone know if the shim is the reason I still have a leak or is it something else. I retightened down the nut to torque specifications and it is still leaking. Any suggestions?

Can I use something besides the shim from a auto parts store or do I need that particular shim? Thanks for any help.
 
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
1,660
Location
MD 'Burbs of DC
I just replaced my rear output pinion seal on my 72 cruiser. After replacing the parking brake assembly, I slid the drum back on the shaft, secured it with the washer and bolt. After that 8 hour ordeal, I still have a leak. This morning I took it all apart and found that I didn't have the shim that goes with the washer.

Does anyone know if the shim is the reason I still have a leak or is it something else. I retightened down the nut to torque specifications and it is still leaking. Any suggestions?

Can I use something besides the shim from a auto parts store or do I need that particular shim? Thanks for any help.

Maybe the infamous rear transfer case seal leak? If your parking brake drum flange is scored, you'll need to slip on a speedi sleeve and replace the rear transfer case seal. If you want the super-duper sure-fire no-leak solution, get the speedi sleeve and Mudrak's dual-seal speedo housing (www.mudrak.com). Worked wonders for me.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Wilmington, NC
Please excuse my ignorance concerning speedi sleeves. I am by no means a mechanic. I have a brand new speedi sleeve that I ordered in conjunction with the output seal, but I have not seen anything concening what a speedi sleeve does or even what it is used for or where it even goes.

Any clarification would be great. I have both a new sleeve and an additional output pinion seal.

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
7,184
Location
McCall, ID
Yup, I've had seals leak past speedi sleeves each time (although, it helped and I think it's a good idea) but the Mudrak housing was the cure.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
239
Location
Victoria, Australia
A speedy sleeve wont cure bad scoring on shafts due to the sleeve thickness....it will mould into the groove due to the seal running on it in the same spot. Use a slight ammount of metal filler on the shaft and install the sleeve.......Make sure the sleeve is matched to the seal and to the shaft............Have been doing it for years on Detroit Series 60's and Cummins rear mains and no come backs
 

65swb45

Elder Statesman
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
30,508
Location
818-953-9230
Website
www.marksoffroad.net
furpants, you didn't say whether your leak was from the perimeter of the drum, or out the center hole where the locknut goes. From the responses you've recieved, everyone has assumed that you are referring to a perimeter leak. From your inquiry about the shim though, I am wondering if you are experiencing a center leak?

If so, you need only clean the output shaft, drum and washer down, then apply silicone to the back of the washer to seal the transfer case from the oil that wanders down the splines of the output shaft.

Best

Mark A.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Wilmington, NC
Mark,

You are correct. I am only experiencing the center leak. Once I removed the drum, the parking brake assembly was dry as a bone. No leaks anywhere. It definitely leaking from the shaft area. I will take it back off and reapply some silicon around the washer. Thanks for the help. If anyone else has any more ideas, please don't hesitate to add something. Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
3,953
Location
Lincoln, CA
Mark,

You are correct. I am only experiencing the center leak. Once I removed the drum, the parking brake assembly was dry as a bone. No leaks anywhere. It definitely leaking from the shaft area. I will take it back off and reapply some silicon around the washer. Thanks for the help. If anyone else has any more ideas, please don't hesitate to add something. Thanks again.

Hate to revive an old thread but I am also getting leak through the rear shaft of the parking brake assembly.. where should i put the silicone.. here is how it was currently set up...
PARKING BRAKE.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,331
Location
Central Oregon
Website
www.oregoncruisers.com
All this talk about shims...I just dropped my tranny/transfer today. Figured I better pull the parking brake and take a peek while its out.
No shim on my 69. I check SOR and they list one. Got it ordered up.
Whats with this shim? Any chance of damage from running w/o. Everything looked ok.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
514
Location
princeton B.C
A speedy sleeve wont cure bad scoring on shafts due to the sleeve thickness....it will mould into the groove due to the seal running on it in the same spot. Use a slight ammount of metal filler on the shaft and install the sleeve.......Make sure the sleeve is matched to the seal and to the shaft............Have been doing it for years on Detroit Series 60's and Cummins rear mains and no come backs

i always use lock tight to fill the grooves before i put on a speedi-sleeve . never had a come back , i have probably installed over a hundred speedi-sleeves , it works well .
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
3,953
Location
Lincoln, CA
All this talk about shims...I just dropped my tranny/transfer today. Figured I better pull the parking brake and take a peek while its out.
No shim on my 69. I check SOR and they list one. Got it ordered up.
Whats with this shim? Any chance of damage from running w/o. Everything looked ok.

from what i understand it has to do with preload - you would need a fish scale to make sure you are at the right specifications. but if you truck was working fine without the shim i wouldn't worry about putting one in as it will change the preload
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom