Knuckle Bearing Races- does something look off here? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Is this normal? I’m doing an axle rebuild and wondering if these knuckle bearing races should be protruding above the surface of the ball like this? It appears to be all the way seated in with no room to drive it down any further. I assume it should be flush to the surface, but this is my first time for Toyota axles.

Here’s a comparison of the new one (Nachi H-E30303J) compared to the Koyo race I took out. Hopefully this pic will show that the new Nachi race is taller than the Koyo race.

Ordered as part of the overhaul kit from Marlin Crawlers.

FACE8BF3-2A5A-4482-BAB5-68F5B1A930BF.jpeg

F5EFCFD1-BDE8-4C4A-8F2C-619C1C0FE72B.jpeg

Guess I’m overthinking this. When you lay the bearings in to the races, the bearings+races are virtually the same overall height Nachi vs. Koyo units. Since the caps ride on top of the actual bearings, I suppose as long as they overall height is the same, then all is good?

Side by side comparison with bearings in place in the races.

28E68E07-7825-41F6-B4F1-04E5A06343B9.jpeg

As long as the overall height is the same, it shouldn't be a problem. I've never used their bearings, but if the quality is anything like their cutting tools for machining I wouldn't hesitate to use them. (they are one of my preferred brands for specialized drills)

Here's a neat cutaway drawing of the knuckle assembly that shows the clearance around the races. (stolen from this post: Front Axle Rebuild - For FAQ)

Annotated_birfield_diagram.jpg

Supply_Japan_KOYO_Bearing.jpg

I would suggest ONLY using the OEM Parts makers Private Lable Box / KOYO Brand

anything else and u see the results and confusion it can cause

i would suggest keeping the MARLIN Crawler Double LiP seals u hopefully Bought also ?