1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KNow anything about laser printers? Does refilling toner cartridges work?

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by PolterGeist, Aug 7, 2005.

1. PolterGeist

PolterGeist

My wife bought a new Konica Minolta laser printer in the spring for all of her papers.

It came with a starter toner cartridge. (I don't know why if I pay for a new printer, why can't I get a full toner cartridge?) Anyhow, it's almost out.

A new cartridge is $70 on ebay, $80 at the store.

A refill kit on Ebay is like $18.

Does refilling the cartridge work or is it a waste of time/money? Am I better off just getting a whole new cartridge?

Steve

2. landtank

landtank SILVER Star

I have about 16 years of past experience with copiers, laser printers and faxes. I personally would never try to refill or use one refilled. Things might be diferent now but I've seen too many problems with them leaking or damaging the machine. While they will replace the cartrige you are usually stuck with the repair bill.

3. Rogorn

Rogorn

These days I only use new mfg brand toner cartridges. I would not try to refill toner myself, cleaning spills seems an impossible task. Only ever used HP brand laser printers if knowing printer mfg makes a difference.

Previously, tried some 3rd party refills, not convinced it was a wise idea. Aftermarket toner impressions include (1) insufficient amount of toner, (2) not as fine granuals/powder, thus some instances of "clogging", and (3) collectively big and little issues sum to the overall impression that compared with price of laser repair or new purchase, not worth it.

However, to mitigate the cost of new cartridges, I regularly run the laser on a "draft" setting for 95% of the output. Manually switch to high quality for those rare times it's needed. This has extended cartridge life considerably.

4. alvarorb

alvarorb Color Geek in Charge

Steve,