Knock or normal? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Just bought this 1997 LX450 from a dealership on the east coast. Had it shipped to my house across the country and it just arrived. Everything checks out except one thing, does this sound like the engine is knocking? This is my first 1FZ and I have no experience with them or how the should sound.

Before anyone asks, yes I did get sent a lot of pictures and videos of the truck before I bought it. However, I couldn’t hear this sound in any of the videos I was sent. Thanks in advance.

Sounds like a power steering vane gear issue which may affect the other gears spinning with it. Might want to take the power steering pump off for a visual check or start with no belts first. Any kind of nick on these gears will create this type of noise.

Sounds like a power steering vane gear issue which may affect the other gears spinning with it. Might want to take the power steering pump off for a visual check or start with no belts first. Any kind of nick on these gears will create this type of noise.
Okay, thank you. So if I took the belt that goes to the power steering pump off then it would go away? If it was that issue.

Okay, thank you. So if I took the belt that goes to the power steering pump off then it would go away? If it was that issue.

The power steering pump on the LX-450 is a gear driven pump. There are other belts and idler pulleys that can be potential problems so removing all the belts to test can be very helpful in determining the source of the noise.

Last edited:
The power steering pump on the LX-450 is a gear driven driven pump. There are other belts and idler pulleys that can be potential problems so removing all the belts to test can be very helpful in determining the source of the noise.