Ironman wiring park/indicator to DRL question

Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
628
Location
Missouri
Good morning. I am considering running the park/indicator lights on the ironman bumper as drl/indicator instead. Has anyone done this? I didn't know if the voltage change would mess up the functionality of the drl relay as there would be more voltage with the ironman led's running with the headlights. I looked through my info and couldn't find the led voltage. Any thoughts on if this would work? Thanks in advance.
 

JunkCrzr89

Competent Ignoramoose
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
4,819
Location
Colorado
Good morning. I am considering running the park/indicator lights on the ironman bumper as drl/indicator instead. Has anyone done this? I didn't know if the voltage change would mess up the functionality of the drl relay as there would be more voltage with the ironman led's running with the headlights. I looked through my info and couldn't find the led voltage. Any thoughts on if this would work? Thanks in advance.
It works. I’m running Stedi fogs in my bumper and they have a separate DRL wire that I spliced into the headlight DRL.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
628
Location
Missouri
Well I wired this up and have partial functionality. Here is the situation.
Both Ironman lights come on with headlight switch turned on and set to high beam. However, with headlight switch turned off and running drl only the drivers side Ironman light comes on. Any thoughts as to what would cause this?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
628
Location
Missouri
quick answer is that the second LED isn't getting 12V+
I have little confidence in my skill in the 98-02 headlight /DTRL wiring, other than they are in series.
running light functionality is the same across all North American 100's
If this is the case, and it does make sense, then there is no easy fix correct? If I need 12v, but am only getting 6v, I may need to abandon this configuration.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2022
Messages
40
Location
Brisbane AUS
You could use a 30A change over relay instead, here's a schematic that might help.
Screenshot_20221004-194038.png
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
628
Location
Missouri
Thinking about this more. If reduced voltage is the issue, why don’t both Ironman lights not work? Shouldn’t both be receiving 6v?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom