Installing 1HZ (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I got a 1HZ motor g/box with 120 k klms and brand new t/case to go into my FJ73 today.
I have to weld new engine mounts and as Ive got no reference points as to actually where the new motor sits I need some tips on getting the engine in its correct position.
My plan was to get the gearbox bolted in its correct position and bolt the engine to it supporting the engine on temporary props and hydraulic jack.I figure if I then fit the radiator and shroud the fan should sit concentric to the fan shroud.
Any easier ways?

In additoion to the above I also got the starter,alt,complete exhaust,fuel filters,all hoses pipes for power steering and anything I need.

I'm no expert, but I have heard it is easier to put the engine/tranny/t-case in all at once. So i'm thinking stick it all in there and bolt the tranny it's spot and you'll then see where the engine is going to ride and whether or not you'll have to change the tranny mount at all and whether everything fits good. Anyway, I've heard the 1HZ is relatively the same size as an F enginge so it should fit in there just fine with some mount changes.

Rob, Dave, Greg...anybody out there?

-Ferg-

i'd definately agree with rosco. it's really pretty easy if you have a decent engine hoist to put the engine/tranny/tcase in at once.

i'm going to put a 13bt into a 60 this march and that's my plan. drop her in, affix the tranny, see where the engine sits and fab some motor mounts from the old 2f and donor 74's mounts. if you have the room it seems like moving motor mounts is going to be much easier than moving the tranny cross member just do to space issues.

-mike