Ideas on refreshing a 170K mi V8? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 95 Yukon I use to pull my FJ40 and even without the 40 hooked up the Yukon is sluggish as hell up hills etc...

The motor uses little oil and has been very reliable so I am shying away from rebuilding it yet. (Mainly cause I have little experience with rebuilding motors)

I changed the air filter, fuel filter, plugs, wires, etc....

I need an inexpensive way to give the truck new life again.... KEY WORD-Inexpensive-

I have heard that getting a head reworked helps-what does this involve and would it help my tired motor?

Any other ideas?

baldboy said:
I have a 95 Yukon I use to pull my FJ40 and even without the 40 hooked up the Yukon is sluggish as hell up hills etc...

If it is sluggish going up hills (unloaded without a trailer, I'd say the motor may need to be refreshed.

Make sure the low power is not due to something else... Any chance you have a clogged catalytic converter?

I had a '95 Yuckon(25K miles) and it was a dog. I'd say on the cheap that a Flowmaster-type muffler and maybe a chip. My '98 Yuck has a Vortec and is otherwise identical and runs very well all through the rpm range.
Start with the basics and do a compression test, if it is WNL, the knock-off Flowmaster (about $80 installed) and a chip (about $230-50)
GL

Ed

.. Any chance you have a clogged catalytic converter?[/quote]

How did you know?

Seriously (the cat has been going out for a few weeks now).

baldboy said:
.. Any chance you have a clogged catalytic converter?

How did you know?

Seriously (the cat has been going out for a few weeks now).[/QUOTE]

My friend owns a 4x4 shop and I usually call to ask what he is working on. He'll probably say I call too much and bother him, but that is another issue... ;)

One day he mentioned that a customer had problems with low power and he thought it was the cat.