hydro assisted 60

Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
312
Location
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Winters here and I think its time for a little more power in the power steering. Anyone now where to sourse the ram for a hydro-assist steering? Also, Any tips on where to drill the steering box? With 38s and a front locker, she's getting pretty hard to pilot in the rocks
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
16
i see post all the time concerning disc brakes and such for all types of vehicles race car stuff will easily do the trick try www.afco.com they have a servo from sweet mfg that will run a remote slave weld on brake brackets for discs alum. radiators and all kinds of cool other s***!good day,BRAD
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
580
Winslow said:
muddogbob, Thanks for the help. That's a sweet write-up you did. I'll start drillin' and tappin' after the next payday.
Ha, sorry. I didn't mean to imply that it was my writeup! This is the writeup I followed to do my drill and tap. This writeup is for a yota pickup, but they box is tapped the same exact way for our wagons.

Good luck
 

GLTHFJ60

Rum Runnin'
SILVER Star
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
23,931
Location
Durham, NC
Damn. That's a nice install. How much did it cost?

How easy is it to turn now? Justify the cost?

:beer:
 

HZJ60 Guy

Tank Buster
Joined
Sep 11, 2003
Messages
2,356
Location
Seattle area
I wish I could tell you. I bought the axles from Mr. Straub already set up. I havent driven her yet!!! I'll report in as soon as I do.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
312
Location
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
pump mods

It sounds like to get the juices flowing you need to also pull any kind of restrictor from the pump itself. I think I'll contract the drilling and tapping to the guys in Texas, I can probably handle the welding. Wonder if I'll still need a steering stabilizer? Probably not.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
580
Winslow said:
It sounds like to get the juices flowing you need to also pull any kind of restrictor from the pump itself. I think I'll contract the drilling and tapping to the guys in Texas, I can probably handle the welding. Wonder if I'll still need a steering stabilizer? Probably not.

The ram acts like a steering stabalizer. A really really BIG stabalizer!
 

Spook50

Get ready
Joined
Feb 16, 2005
Messages
5,037
Location
Spokane, WA
For those who've done it, what difference do you notice with stock suspension and tire size? Looks like something good to do once I have larger tires, but do I really need to worry about it before then?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
580
Spook50 said:
For those who've done it, what difference do you notice with stock suspension and tire size? Looks like something good to do once I have larger tires, but do I really need to worry about it before then?

You won't need assist unless you're running at least 35s and a front locker.
 

Mace

rock scientist..
Staff member
s-Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
21,435
Location
Las Vegas
muddogbob said:
You won't need assist unless you're running at least 35s and a front locker.
"Need" is such an arbitrary word ;)


Stock 60 steering sucks.. Adding hydro assist will only help it.

I am going to port my box and eventually go hydro assist :)
 

GLTHFJ60

Rum Runnin'
SILVER Star
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
23,931
Location
Durham, NC
Anyone know how expensive the kit/parts are?

That might help in the decision making process.

:beer:
 

Mace

rock scientist..
Staff member
s-Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
21,435
Location
Las Vegas
Depends, I believe hte WT kit is like $499 and he rebuilds your box :)


Just getting the box ported and rebuilt is $150
their ram is about $160

if you can source your own parts (the ram on my 40 was $43) costs can be kept to a minimum.

The problem is that you want a 1.5" ram with a 6" stroke. Not typically an on the shelf thing..
 

GLTHFJ60

Rum Runnin'
SILVER Star
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
23,931
Location
Durham, NC
True. $500 is not bad for a complete conversion.

Now are we limited to a 1.5 inch ram, or could we run bigger? In theory, if you could fit a bigger ram, then you would have more pushing power for not that much more money. Just a thought.

:beer:
 

Mace

rock scientist..
Staff member
s-Moderator
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
21,435
Location
Las Vegas
Problem with a bigger ram is the potential for "lag time" in turning. Basically, when you are sitting still there will be a second or two where you cannot turn until the ram builds up pressure and the box is allowed some assist pressure.

It happens on my 40 with a 2" ram. Not too bad but on a mostly street rig I would not suggest it.

But yes, a 2" ram will give you more assist. But a 1.5" ram is all you really need in a street 60
 
Top Bottom