How urgent, BIRF job? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi folks, newbie here, though have been lurking for some time-ha!

I have been slowly building up my courage to talk myself into doing the birf job since I live in a small mountain town and don't trust any of the local mechanics. I've been searching like mad on the birf writeups and threads and I think I can do it myself!

When I changed the front diff fluid recently, I noticed that there is some 'sludginess' to the old fluid when it drained. Since this was BEFORE I read about the bad birf/diff-soup, I put expensive syntetic back in. *ouch!*

Question: If the diff fluid shows some birf grease contamination, but I'm not getting the deaded 'click-click' on hard turns, how urgent is the birf job? Can I wait 10k miles?

How many miles on the rig, and how long ago since last birf job?

Get the DVD on the birf job. Its a great resource! I think if you do not have any "play" (jack the front wheels up and push-pull at the 12 and 6 oclock positions) and no clicking sounds i think your ok for another 10k.

probably not urgent based on what I read here.
What I might do would be to drain the synth and keep it. Get a 5 gals bucket of cheap gear oil. Flush the diff with some solvent. Refill with cheap oil. Make sure there is enough grease in the knuckle. Check the oil after a couple thou miles and see if there is any grease in there again. Might not be leaking much at all. If so no biggie. If there is a lot of grease back in then you should consider a seal job. I would think that as long as there is grease in the knuckle and oil in the diff you are not in imminent danger.

And welcome!

(consider changing your name if you don't want to hate it in a few posts...)

Thanks for the welcome -- holy cow, what a responsive community!