How necessarey.... (1 Viewer)

Website
www.raddcruisers.ca
Would you guys think its almost a must or just a factory install that is not a worry.

What I am speaking of is the low oil pressure shut off.

Doing a install and looking at the idea of installing a custom low pressure shut off system on this truck.

Rob

I think they are great cheap insurance for expensive motors why not on a cruiser conversion. Oil filters do come loose and I had mine bend and blow the seal from a hi high pressure problem caused by the relief valve. The guy behind me pulled me up before anything showed up and the dip stick actually showed no oil on it in a very short distance.It was more good luck than good management thanks to him.cheers.

cruiser_guy

Good morning from here, Just finished updating ou
Website
wirrell.com
Do it!!! I did it on my daughters FJ55/3B and I'll be doing it on my '67 FJ45LV/3B as well!

oil pressure shut down

I'm just a newbie here, but I'm familiar with the Kysor engine shutdown system, used on many engines including the two stroke Detroit....they work well. Also includes a 'low coolant' as well as a 'high temp' shut down.

lowenbrau

SILVER Star
I learned the value of the system with my first Cruiser. It was a stock height BJ60 and the poor front leafs were so bagged and the shocks so bad that when I jumped on the brakes the front driveshaft clipped the bottom of the oilfilter. (can you imagine driving anything so low?) Some time later, after the same truck grew up a bit, I got into a situation off road and caught the exhaust on a rock while backing up and pushed it into the oil filter. Both times I would have driven on with no oil. Its times like these that idiot lights are good but a low pressure shutdown is better.

engine shutdown

I'm trying to find info on the Kysor system, haven't found a webpage yet. I've reqested info from a retailer that might stock that system, will post when I receive anything.

Cheers.

Website
www.raddcruisers.ca