How many rust free 60's do you think are still out there? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,
I am at a crossroads with my 87 fj60. The truck has 240,000 miles on the odo, and it has spent it's entire life here in NJ (exposed to salt = rust). When I got it in 2000, I had the rust cut out and new metal welded in, had it painted, and dropped a TON!!!!!! of $$$$ into it. Well now 5 yrs later the rust is starting to come back, the springs are shot, the trans has a bad synchro on 3rd gear, and the engine is tired. So now what the hell do I do? I was looking in the for sale section, and I found the "rutbeer" truck and I WANT it badly. But I can't have two 60's.

I just feel like such an idiot, because I wanted a 60 since I was 12, so in 2000 when I graduated college I got the first one I found, can you impulse buy!!! And I should have stayed away from it. After tons of $$$ I still have a truck that is no place near perfect, and I don't think I can put any more oney into a truck that I know is rusting again! Please give me some advice! Again , I feel stupid for dumoing cash into something that wa not worth it in the first place!

Thanks,
Zack

cut your losses, start over

If you price it reasonablily, a hunter or someone looking for a banger/knockaround wagon will pick it up.

Buying a good fj60 will cost a lot less than a new anything. You've learned a lot now you know what to look for (#1, don't buy a east coast rig!).

My 84 has 94K miles and Zero rust. Not for sale at this point by-the-way.

It's my 4th cruiser all have been rust free low milage rigs..just gotta look, and not just on these cruiser head sites.

they are out there..

dump the rust bucket be patient..start over.

just the old 2 cents worth...

HD

I am selling one of my 60 with zero rust. Come buy it and drive it across the country.Look in the cruisers for sale section on here.