How do I get an Autometer Fuel Gauge to work with my 71 fj40 fuel tank?

Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
46
I've done a 350 swap and am upgrading my guages.

I'm using autometer guages and am having trouble with the OHMs from the sending unit to the fuel guage. They have a selection of OHM options but none that seem to work with the 17-120 OHM range of the sending unit.

Please advise.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
5,010
Location
Meridian,TEXAS
Most aftermarket gauges aren't compatible w/40 senders....
 

Poser

Oh...Durka Durka Durka.
Supporting Vendor
Joined
Oct 1, 2003
Messages
20,465
Location
MN
Pick up a generic Autometer fuel level sending unit to work with your gauge and modify the holes to work on your Toyota tank.


No big deal.


:beer:
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2006
Messages
868
Location
Woody P
easy way is to get a new sending unit that is compatable with the autometer gauge.

There is a way to hook up a bunch of resistors and other electronic crap in order to make the gauge read correctly, if you want try that route search fuel gauge and a ton of info will come up.
 

Josey1972

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
816
Location
Indiana
Resurrecting this thread to ask if anyone would know the model of the Autometer sender they used on this?
 

Josey1972

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
816
Location
Indiana
Thanks. It seems the better move to swap the sender with an auto meter one since I’m getting rid of the poly tank can going back to a stock tank. Thoughts?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom