How big is too big? Tire size for (heavy) 1HZ Camper. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey there. I've done some searching have have found some good resources and info regarding tire size and R&P ratios but almost all of what I'm finding is for gas engines.

I'm new to this forum and I'm fairly new to my 2002 HZJ78 camper, which is pretty heavy and running the turboless 1HZ. The vehicle is built for long term overlanding and I'm using it as such. It's actually down in the mountains of Ecuador right now waiting for me to return to it once borders open back up. SO, altitude and big hills are a consideration.

I'm currently running 265/75/R16s (so 31.6") with 4.11 R&P. I believe the trans is stock gearing.

I'd like to jump up to 35" if I could to it without sacrificing much in terms of power and top speed.

Can anyone shed some insight on:

a) if it's a dumb idea (it's pretty much only for aesthetics).

b) what size R&P would be ideal for 35" tires on a diesel with overlanding in mind.

Thanks!

Colombia_Pro400_20_11.jpg

a) if it's a dumb idea (it's pretty much only for aesthetics).

For overlanding , 32 is the best IMO. Big tyres do give you a small advantage off-road, but the extra height makes them unstable in emergencies on the highway and long wheel base 7* series never had a lot of stability in the 1st place. I always carry 2 spares and carrying 2x 35" tyres and wheels is a lot of weight and extra room.
I think the 33's should be the maximum and even then you can feel the extra diameter working against the brakes.

35’s are going to be super slow. You got 125hp at sea level when the engine was new. You have made it heavy.

You can re-gear but that will kill your top end speed and it won’t give you more power.

You can add a turbo but the 1HZ can die an early death from that, especially if not done right and overworked.