Hot, hot, hot inside...? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm in Costa Rica and I'm a fj40 newbie. I've got a 1980 diesel. Seems to be in good mechanical and physical shape for the most part.

However, I'm experiencing one main problem:

It gets very hot in the cabin while driving. (Even though ambient temperature outside is 70 degrees). The engine temperature is fine.

I have two ideas. Please let me know if I'm on track, or way off base:

1. The interior needs new rubber flooring. I've got a company here that custom fabricates and installs to the exact fit. Will this prevent the head (which I'm assuming is coming in from the engine compartment or possibly from under the truck?) from heating up the cabin/driver's area? There's also a local Rhino-lining franchise. Would either of these help or hinder?

2. I seem to remember seeing some type of insulation blanket that would go in the firewall area, under the hood. But can't seem to find a link to any of the suppliers online. Is this something I can buy at a local auto supply store? Do you think it will help?

Thanks,
Rolex.

The best stuff comes from marine suppliers. but it has foam in it so use with caution if you hit lots of water or mud.
Put some in an old truck I had (engine between seats) - AMAZING difference.

Is the heater core getting hot? If your heater control valve is stuck open (like mine is) hot water is still being pumped through the heater core right next to your legs. Even without the fan turned on, it can heat the cabin up pretty quick.

second the water in the heater. You can close the valve manually, I think. If there is also quite some heat from the tranny, rubber mat alone will not do as much as a proper heat shield. In fact, I'll have one under the tranny hump plus the heat blanket inside the cabin.

where does your exhaust run, mine runs under driver and passenger and i heats up real nice