HJ45 transfer into BJ40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

I`ve got a question for the connoseurs!

I have a '75 BJ40 which I am rebuilding. I also have a '80 HJ45 with a transmission & transfer case in excellent shape. Since the BJ40 has a B engine & the other one has an H engine, I know transmissions are not interchangeble, but the question remains - are the transfer cases interchangeable? I want to do a swap, since the truck I want to use more often is my BJ. Both trucks are running and it would be a major hassle to pull apart both transfers just to find they are not interchangeable.

Thanks for your responses, any leads are more than welcome.

BJ40man in Honduras, C.A.

the transfers should be, but i'm no expert. also i can't see why the transmissions aren't interchangeable. if their both 4 speeds they should all be the same

The transfers should be interchangeable, unless the HJ45 is built after August '80 when the split case started. In the US, sacrificing a running 45 for a 40 is not a good move, but things are likely different in Honduras.

Dave

BJ40man,
in your signature line, it says your 74 BJ40 has a 3B.
Did you bolt the 3B engine to the tranny that you B engine originally came with, or did the 3B come with a post 08/80 transmission (and split case)? Do you know what transmission you have in the HJ45?

As you stated, the H and B transmissions won't bolt up due to the B having a 1.5" longer input shaft and 21 vs. 10 splines.