Hi! Newbie here: Brand new owner of a rebuilt J100 with 81K on the odometer (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone! I'm new around here and I'm seriously excited to join the 100 club!

But first, a little story... I'm the disenfranchised former owner of a 2016 Ram 1500. I loved that truck, but it was pretty much a problem from day one: A dozen recalls, check engine lights, multiple malfunctioning EGRs that were replaced; the list goes on. I finally threw up my hands and decided to get rid of it when it suddenly lost power at 60 MPH in heavy traffic; I couldn't push it past 35 due to a computer issue. It scared the life out of me and I feel lucky I wasn't hit from behind due to the sudden loss of momentum.

So I end up getting rid of my four-year-old truck and bought a 20-year-old LC J100 :)

I looked high and low within about 500 miles of my location on the Oregon coast. Lots of rigs with 200K+ on the odo, but I happened to find exactly what I wanted... With a salvage title. Normally I wouldn't touch a salvaged car, but I found before-and-after photos of the damage and it... didn't look too bad! The former owner drove it about 4K miles a year and the vehicle still had some maintenance records available; a northern California truck, too. By all appearances, it looked to be in excellent shape inside and out, and appeared to be mechanically sound.

I took it around to two different mechanics and both expressed the same sentiment, that it was incredible shape for its age, and perfectly clean: No leaks, no frame damage, and absolutely no rust! I couldn't believe it!

Too good to be true?

I was about ten feet into a test drive when I made up my mind: Nope, it's flawless. Engine, transmission; everything behaving like it only had 100 miles on the odometer.